I Survived the Launch Party! Hooray!

Ye gods, the launch party happened! As you can see by the above video clip (which agency-mate Christy Lenzi helpfully recorded even as I completely forgot to), I even managed to write and perform a theme song for it. (If you look closely you can catch the occasional glimpse of my pig-tailed daughter grooving along.) I’m completely gobsmacked by all the people who turned out for it – every single world in my life collided there. I met people like Christy and Sarah Stevenson for the first time. Kevin Cullimore, one of my oldest friends, actually flew out from the east coast for it! Maybe best of all, my editor, the one and only Arthur A. Levine, was coincidentally in town for another occasion and brought his entire family to the party. I love my editor.

The 6.13 year old did a bang-up job serving as the announcer, and the staff at Mrs. Dalloway’s Bookstore were the best of hosts – they took very good care of me, and if I actually get to hold future launch parties, they’ll be at the top of the list. A few photos, all of which were graciously taken by other people:

Me and Sarah Stevenson!
I got to meet my fellow imaginary Twitter band member Sarah Stevenson, author of THE LATTE REBELLION!
Here's a rarity: a picture of me I actually like.
Here’s a rarity: a picture of me I actually like.
Arthur Levine and a really, really, really big cake
Why do I have the best editor in the world? Photos like this are just one reason why.
Book-themed Oreos! That's Captain Stupendous, and Vincent, and Polly...
Book-themed Oreos! That’s Captain Stupendous, and Vincent, and Polly…
My colleagues at the Saint Mary's College library turned out in force.
My colleagues at the Saint Mary’s College library turned out in force.
Author at work, yo.
Author at work, yo.
Me and my buddies Christy Lenzi and Edna Cabcabin Moran!
Me and my buddies Christy Lenzi and Edna Cabcabin Moran!
Cheri Williams deserves a flipping medal for all the help she gave me.
Cheri Williams deserves a flipping medal for all the help she gave me.

Thank you, thank you, and thank you to everyone who came to the party, bought a book, or cheered me on from a distance – it’s no fun to throw a party if people don’t actually show up. People showed up in a big way – old friends, more recent friends, brand-spanking new friends, writers, colleagues, teachers, librarians, and most important, kids. I got to sign books for kids, including a few who’d already read the book! Otis, for example, very respectfully asked if I was finished with the next book yet, because he really wanted to read it. You’re the man, Otis. I’m working on it.

BTW, I haven’t forgotten about the whole pre-order contest thing! The winner of a GEEKS, GIRLS, AND SECRET IDENTITIES tote bag, a copy of Dan Santat’s SIDEKICKS, a copy of Martha Brockenbrough’s DEVINE INTERVENTION, an 8×10 illustration of Harry Potter and Hedwig by GEEKS artist Mike Maihack, and an utterly random wind-up tin toy robot is JIM HILL! Doooood, congrats and thanks for pre-ordering the book – I’m afraid it’s gonna take me a few more days to get your prizes shipped out, but ship them out I will.

And now, I shall take a deep breath…
m.

9 thoughts on “I Survived the Launch Party! Hooray!

  1. “Nobody does it better
    Makes me feel bad for the rest…
    Baby you’re the best!”
    And look at the kids in front bopping to the singing. Good that Christ Lenzi made a record of your singing. Yay Mike! (Do you do birthdays?)

  2. Wow, Mike! You are a man of many talents. You write. You sing. Play the ukulele. Take over the world… Can’t wait to get my pre-ordered copies (note the plural) of GEEKS, GIRLS, AND SECRET IDENTITIES. Glad you had a blast and that a lot of people came out to support you. It looked like fun. Now take a well-deserved rest.

  3. I’m the luckiest guy on the planet. Thank you, Mike!

    I stopped to watch the video, swoon, and then facebooked and tweeted it BEFORE I saw I was the lucky winner. Of course the real prize is reading the book. Awwwwww.

    Here’s to many more launch parties!

  4. Just got my pre-ordered copy, read the book and laughed out loud at least 10 times while reading…. I went completely into this world you made. Congratulations, Mike. This is the beginning of a saga, methinks. I want to know what happens next!

Leave a comment