Fashion, a.k.a. There’s Always Room for Personal Growth

I’m writing a 12-year-old girl character who’s very into fashion, which is a challenge for me because I’m not knowledgeable on the topic. In fact, I’m realizing (not for the first time) that I have very deep, very powerful negative feelings about the world of fashion, and by extension those who are interested in and engaged with it. This is not going to help me write my new book; in fact, it’s really not going to help me, you know, be in the world. So here we have our hero Mike, unearthing yet another massive reserve of judgment and bias. I don’t actually know if I’d be doing this if I wasn’t attempting to write this book. So does being a writer automatically make us want to be better people? Probably not, but in this particular instance I think it’s at least helping me TRY, which must count for something.

4 thoughts on “Fashion, a.k.a. There’s Always Room for Personal Growth

  1. As a writer who’s writing a middle grade novel from the POV of a 12-year-old BOY, I hear ya! Not that my mc is into fashion or anything… Heck, neither am I!

    But your question is intriguing. It’s not so much that we want to be better people. We just want to tell a story. And a truth or two. So if the character who invades your brain and won’t let you alone until you write her or his story happens to be, um, a little different from you, it opens your mind to an entirely new set of possibilities. And research. Tons of research. I’d advise watching The Devil Wears Prada, because Meryl Streep’s character has a way cool monologue about why fashion is important and it might help you see that world differently. Plus Anne Hathaway gets to wear dozens of fab outfits and this was years before her Les Miserables lettuce-only diet so she still looks great.

    1. Hmmm…complicated answer, Art. I’ve started attacking it more deliberately, but I don’t know that I’ve conquered it. And it’s rooted in a lot of things – personal history more than anything else, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

