Friends

I say stuff like this pretty often, but that’s because it bears repeating, so here it is again: I have not always been successful in being a social creature. I’ve spent long periods of time (notably during my adolescence and young adulthood) in which it seemed like I didn’t have a single friend in the world; feelings of isolation and loneliness have brought me to my knees many, many times. So the fact that the children’s literature community swung its doors wide open when I knocked is still an astonishing thing to me, something that almost defies belief. I’ve gotten to know people in this business who floor me with their creative brilliance, intellectual depth, generosity of spirit, and fully-lived ideals. I have the great good fortune of being able to mentally point to people throughout this industry and think “That person! That amazing person RIGHT THERE! Look at what she does with her life! Look at how he gives to people! They take my breath away! I get to call him my colleague! I get to call her my friend!”

It feels bloody miraculous to me, and I doubt it will ever stop feeling miraculous, you know what I’m saying?

2 thoughts on “Friends

  1. Yes, I do know what you’re saying, Mike! I suspect a lot of writers were socially awkward adolescents. I certainly was. đŸ™‚ The children’s lit community has always felt warm and welcoming to me. I meet the most wonderful people every time I attend a writing conference or a book signing.

  2. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything. However
    just imagine if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could undeniably be one of the best in its niche.
    Fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

