Friendship

I know there are people in this world for whom friendship and social interaction feel entirely natural and comfortable, but I’m not one of those people. I’ve felt massive gobs of envy for those people, but I’ve never been one of them. This is one of the multiple ways in which my still-new career as an author has radically changed my life for the better.

When it comes to friendship, I’m just not used to the feeling of abundance I currently have. It’s all relative, of course, and I’m sure there are people for whom my social existence would feel paltry – I still hardly ever crawl out from under my rock, after all. But it’s very, very good to have people who I trust enough to ask for help during anxiety-riddled moments, or join with in collective working/cheerleading sessions, or ask for opinions on work that feels emotionally exposing. And it’s remarkable to see friends who I cherish meet other friends who I cherish, then become friends who clearly cherish each other!

Things like that still feel new, and startling, and incredibly meaningful. I often still feel rather lost when navigating the seas of social interaction, but I do feel like I’m navigating them. In the past I usually felt like I was drifting aimlessly, or worse, sitting in dry dock, and I don’t feel that way anymore.

2 thoughts on “Friendship

  1. Consider that your friends are the lucky ones, Mike.
    I think being a good friend is more enriching than counting mine. Some social sites have done a lot to corrupt the word. The only way to face 😉 that, for me, is to be the friend I want to have.

Leave a Reply

