Trent

Last summer I attended the ALA Annual Conference for the first time. One of the individual events I went to was a dinner for all of the Scholastic people in attendance, where I met a bunch of people for the first time, including Trent Reedy. Now, it’s more or less common knowledge by now that I’m plagued by a gargantuan case of social anxiety, so I was grappling with that in the usual manner when we arrived at the restaurant. Trent (who wasn’t seated in the same part of the vaguely obscene, sparkly red Hummer/limo that Scholastic sent for us) gave me a big hug, expressed great enthusiasm about the fact that we share an agent (the fabulous Ammi-Joan Paquette, of course), and bought me a drink. I was and continue to be deeply appreciative of the fact that at my very first conference as a published author and my very first Scholastic family dinner, Trent made the effort to greet me in a manner that actually made me feel like family. I’ll never forget it.

2 thoughts on “Trent

  1. I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting Trent in person yet, but when I was accepted at VCFA he sent me a very nice message welcoming me to the small fraternity of male students. Excellent writer, wonderful guy.

  2. I hear you on the social anxiety. What a lovely, inspiring story this is. And Scholastic sounds like a wonderful “family.” I was impressed by Trent’s WORDS IN THE DUST but haven’t yet read STEALING AIR.

Leave a Reply

