Random Acts of Publicity 2011: Julian Hector!

My birthday card from Julian Hector
Come on, how can you not love a guy who makes a birthday card like this?

Ahhhhh, line edits due VERY VERY SOON! No time to blog! Must make this really, really fast! Here’s the official scoop on the very cool event known as Random Acts of Publicity:

The 3rd Annual Random Acts of Publicity, September 6-8, 2011 is a week to celebrate your Friend’s book, or your favorite book, by doing a Random Act of Publicity:  Blog, link, Like, review, or talk about the book . (BLLuRT!)

Awesome stuff, huh? Darcy Pattison, a mainstay of the kidlit community, came up with the idea a few years ago, and it’s built up quite the head of steam ever since.

So! The friend whose work I want to celebrate is the guy who thoughtfully whipped up the lightning-fast yet hilariously funny birthday card at the top of this post.  He also collaborated with my own editor (and picture book author par excellence) Arthur Levine on the wonderful ode to working parents and their children, MONDAY IS ONE DAY. Yes, it’s Julian Hector! A trio of huzzahs for Julian!

Aw, look at this little guy, iddint he the most adorable thing ever?

One of these days we’ll meet in person, Julian and I, but for now I’m gonna celebrate his work with this stunningly generous multibook giveaway! I know what you’re thinking – “well gee whiz Mike, I want to give you a balloon animal because you are just such a swell guy.” I am, in fact, an extremely swell guy, thank you for noticing.

But enough about me – to enter, just leave a comment on this post about a picture book author, illustrator, or author/illustrator whose work you admire as much as I admire Julian’s, which is to say, a whole lot. I’ll randomly select a winner, who will receive an Indiebound order (from the indie store of that person’s choice) that includes three selections from the Julian Hector ouvre – the aforementioned MONDAY IS ONE DAY (illustrated by Julian, written by Arthur A. Levine), THE GENTLEMAN BUG (written and illustrated by Julian), and THE LITTLE MATADOR (also written and illustrated by Julian).

I’ll take entries until, oh, midnight on Friday, September 16. The winner shall experience feelings of tremendous glee and contentment and own three awesome picture books by one of the rising stars in the biz. The winner will also have to wait a couple of weeks, because I have a deadline and I’ve already spent too much time goofing around on the old bloggy wog, but it’s three free books, for crying out loud! What, you’re gonna complain? I HAVE DECREED IT TO BE SO, AND SO IT SHALL BE. Got it? Ready? OK GO!

m.

P.S. Just so you know, the contest is closed. Thanks to everyone who entered!

14 thoughts on “Random Acts of Publicity 2011: Julian Hector!

  1. You may not have much time to post–I love it that you’re working on line edits–but still you made me laugh!

    Keeping with the picture book theme, I love Tammi Sauer’s work. Right now thinking of Mostly Monsterly. Have you seen it? I’ve gotten to meet Tammi and she’s lovely to be with.

  2. *blushes*

    Here I am to comment on the collective awesomeness of Julian Hector, Mike Jung, and Darcy Pattison, and I see MY name in the comment above. Ah, life and it’s nice happenings….

    I will LIKE this on my fb page as the world needs more Julian Hector Appreciation.

    Now back to work, Jung.

  3. Okay, I’m in. I have to mention (again) Jim Averbeck’s IN A BLUE ROOM, with illustrations by Tricia Tusa. The way the story & art in this book pull together is amazing, I think.

    And, just for a blast from the past from when my son was young–you can’t go wrong with David McPhail’s PIGS APLENTY, PIGS GALORE.

    Thanks for the reminder, too, Mike. Off to post my own random post & giveaway!

  4. I adore anything illustrated by Bagram Ibatoulline. Have you ever seen GREAT JOY? Or CROW CALL? And he has a new one coming out in November by Linda Sue Park called THE THIRD GIFT. The man is just extremely talented.

    Even in the throes of line edits you manage to post a funny blog post, Mike. Yay!

  5. “The Giving Tree,” by Shel Silberstein is one of those books that share the complete circle of life and relationships. I never knew how amazing this book was until I saw my daughter’s Kindergarten teacher, Jim McCarthy, present it at an end of year reading to all his students. He had some students in tears, when he mentioned he would always be there for them to come back and visit! To top it off, he offered each student the book (with a CD rendering of his voice reading it) as an end of the year gift!

  6. “The Giving Tree,” by Shel Silverstein is one of those books that share the complete circle of life and relationships. I never knew how amazing this book was until I saw my daughter’s Kindergarten teacher, Jim McCarthy, present it at an end of year reading to all his students. He had some students in tears, when he mentioned he would always be there for them to come back and visit! To top it off, he offered each student the book (with a CD rendering of his voice reading it) as an end of the year gift!

  7. Three times is a charm with Shel Silverstein! He successfully writes “The Giving Tree,” which is one of those books that shares the complete circle of life and relationships. I never knew how amazing this book was until I saw my daughter’s Kindergarten teacher, Jim McCarthy, present it at an end of year reading to all his students. He had some students in tears, when he mentioned he would always be there for them to come back to and visit! To top it off, he offered each student the book (with a CD rendering of his voice reading it) as an end of the year gift! The other two Silverstein books that I have seen children greatly entertained by include: “Where the Sidewalk Ends” and “Falling Up.”

  8. I won a free pound of fresh pasta once, and my friend told me winning ‘comes in threes.’ Twenty years later, I’m still waiting for number two so I can belive in this three- thing.
    And I’d rather it be a picture book than almost anything else.
    How pathetic can a post get? Here^.

  9. I’ll go with Jill Esbaum. She has a lovely picture book called ESTELLE TAKES A BATH, one called STANZA and a new one called TOM’S TWEET coming out in November with Dan Santat. (She has others, too, but those are my favorites.)

  10. I love David LaRochelle’s books (THE END, THE BEST PET EVER, etc.) And David is an amazing guy too. I met him at a conference this summer and told him that my daughter was a huge fan. He sent her an email with a picture he drew for her, which sent her into a week-long happy dance! When an author/illustrator takes time out for an individual fan like that, you’ve just gotta be impressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

