Wherein the blogger shamelessly pimps his own event

Molly O'Neill is right, this DOES look like something from a Lisa Yee book cover.

YEEEAAAAH, I’m gonna do it. Marketing. Promotion! EVENT PUBLICITY! Oh I feel so cheap and tawdry–oh wait, that’s right, I always feel that way…

DON’T BE A PINHEAD: Building an Online Presence Before Landing a Book Deal 

SCBWI California. San Francisco East/North Bay Area: A Beyond the Bay event
Sponsored by Deborah’s Rotten Tomato Stand and Arthur’s Transatlantic Croissant Delivery Service
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church
1924 Trinity Avenue, Walnut Creek, CA 94596
Hecklers welcome

Mike Jung has an agent and a book deal, but before that stuff happened he was just another irritating guy spending too much time on the internet blabbing on and on about nothing. Find out how he pulled the wool over everyone’s eyes and started a career as a published author anyway. Mike is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette of the Erin Murphy Literary Agency, and his debut novel GEEKS, GIRLS AND SECRET IDENTITIES is forthcoming from Arthur A. Levine Books. Yes, in fact I AM writing about myself in third person. TRY AND STOP ME. Yes, in fact I AM inviting people who live as far away as France. YOU SHOULD BE FLATTERED. That’s an unreasonably long way to travel, I must really want to see you there!

Fun, inventive and possibly masochistic activities that you may be asked to participate in at this gala event:

  1. You will have the opportunity to serve as proxy for a heckler who cannot attend.
  2. You might be forced to hold a ridiculous homemade sign and participate in a group photo.
  3. There will be at least a couple of attempts to coerce you into doing something silly that will eventually appear on YouTube.
Err, um, it’s not free. I think it’s $10 for SCBWI members, $15 for non-members. But if you attend I’ll give you a free doughnut! Promise! FREE DOUGHNUTS! (Psssst, actually they’re cookies, and SCBWI will provide them, but JUST PRETEND THEY’RE DOUGHNUTS)
8 thoughts on “Wherein the blogger shamelessly pimps his own event

  1. Oh MAN!! I would love to go to this…buy yeah…I live in Canada. Say…can you send me a donut, though?

    Have fun, I _know_ those who go will learn a bunch, those luck donut-eating devils.

  2. Can I come even if I DON’T heckle? It’s on my calandar! Anybody willing and the creek don’t rise and the end-of-year HS homework doesn’t flood, and I’ll be there. 🙂

  3. Can I come even if I DON’T heckle? It’s on my calendar! Anybody willing and the creek don’t rise and the end-of-year HS homework doesn’t flood, and I’ll be there. 🙂

  4. Ooo, ooo (*raises hand*) –I wanna find out how you pulled the wool over everyone’s eyes. Can I be one of those hecklers who send in their proxy because they cannot attend? Consider this comment my proxy.

    Sorry, but it’s a bit far from Pennsylvania. Otherwise, I would certainly be there.

    You BETTER post photos afterward.

Leave a Reply

