Stuff I liked about 2010, or I promise this post won’t be all about HIS DARK MATERIALS…

Oooh, that's such a purty little imported paperback edition, iddnit? Yes indeed.

…although could you blame me? I’ve heard all the praise and had the books recommended to me a thousand times, but still I didn’t get around to reading them until now. I just plowed through all three books, however, and of course I’m now a shameless, blubbering train wreck. Incredible stuff.

So I guess my tardy discovery of Philip Pullman’s HIS DARK MATERIALS trilogy is something I like about 2010, eh? This is very likely to be my final blog post of the year, so hey, perfect time for a recap! There’s been an abundance of purely personal good news this year, topped by the birth of my son, but it’s undoubtedly been the most eventful year of my writing life, so that’s what I’m going to focus on.

Something that pleases me is how much memorable stuff has happened to other writers I know to some degree or other, and that spurred an interesting (and typically neurotic and oversensitive) thought: if I celebrate the good news and good fortune of other writers who I think well of, will I manage to offend those people who I don’t include in the list through a foggy-bottomed mind or through sheer laziness? I know hurt feelings happen and people feel left out and all that stuff, but is that a reason to not make the list at all? I’m just thinking out loud here – I’ve obviously made the stupid list already. I’m no more interested in making anyone feel excluded than the next person, so I’d feel genuinely bad about it, but on the other hand I’m not a believer in the idea that if you want to say something celebratory or complementary about someone you’re obliged to say it about every single person that you could possibly say it about, know what I mean? Urk, I’m babbling, I’m just gonna get on with it. Here we go! Stuff I Liked About 2010 begins NOW!

STUFF I LIKED, BOOK DEAL/LAUNCH DIVISION

STUFF I LIKED, SCBWILA DIVISION

STUFF I LIKED, RANDOM DIVISION

And, of course…

STUFF I LIKED, OBVIOUS DIVISION

A splendid and satisfying year, all told. In the spirit of the approaching new year I’d like to raise a glass in your honor, o blog readers. I’m grateful to every single one of you for reading my inane natterings on this thing we call the writing life. I hope the past year has given you a complete, multi-layered set of experiences. If you’ve had troubles, I hope you’ve weathered them as well as possible and found help and commiseration when they were needed. If you’ve had triumphs, I hope you’ve been able to savor them to the fullest possible extent, and that they’re part of a ladder of triumphs you’re still in the process of climbing. I hope the new year brings each of us at least a little bit of what we need and desire, and that the fulfillment of our needs and desires takes a shape that is surprising in the best possible way.

I hope 2011 will bring us each our fair share of joy. We deserve it, don’t you think? Go ahead, you can say it – “why yes, Mike, I think we do.” Indeed, we sure do. Happy New Year, my friends. Live and be well.

m.

17 thoughts on “Stuff I liked about 2010, or I promise this post won’t be all about HIS DARK MATERIALS…

  1. Great list! But did you really go to Arthur Levine’s workshop with a “low expectations” sign? Thanks again for nominating our book, an Eyeball in My Garden, for a Cybils – even though it doesn’t stand a chance. We were just thrilled to finally have a collection of our poems published. Heather is my critique partner and I too am excited to have had a small role in bringing her book into the world.

    1. I really did, Stella, although Arthur and I had been joking about it on Facebook for a while, so he knew it was coming. And you’re welcome, congrats to all of you on the publication of EYEBALL!

  2. What an incredible year it’s been for you, Mike! I’m so thrilled and happy for you!

    And I was really touched to find myself and my new book cover on your “stuff I liked” list. Thank you! If I made a “stuff I liked” list, your happy announcements (not to mention your hysterical tweets) would have made mine for 2010 for sure.

    Congratulations again!

    1. Aw, thanks Nova. I’m really, really, really looking forward to reading IMAGINARY GIRLS, so it was kind of a no-brainer. 🙂

  3. so honored to have made the Best Of list.
    and i don’t mind noting that all your good
    stuff happened after the funnest lunch ever
    with g and a and me! =D haha! coincidence?
    i think not!

  4. I’m also honoured to have made the list!

    My fave section though, has got to be the Obvious Division. 2011 is going to be a great year for you, Mike! (And obv all the years AFTER that but.) 🙂

    1. Aw, thanks Courtney! Congrats on a great year for you too – awards, new books, Jeff Probst (or was that last year?)… I greedily await delivery of my copy of FALL FOR ANYTHING!

Leave a Reply

