Again with THE BONESHAKER, or, I should just call this blog “Nothing but Contests”

THE BONESHAKER by Kate Milford
Come on, you KNOW you want to read this book.

Update: all righty then, the iddy biddle contest is now closed. I believe there’ll be a winner announcement over the weekend…

Why am I doing another contest, you ask? I suppose I could give you my standard answer – none of your business, lackey, and peel me a grape while you’re at it – but I’m feeling expansive today, perhaps because of my own recent string of blog contest victories. Yes, ANOTHER string of victories, MWAHAHAHA…

So, I AM doing another contest, and this time it’s for an ARC of THE BONESHAKER, Kate Milford’s excellent, excellent middle-grade steampunk fantasy novel that releases exactly 3 weeks from today, on May 24. If you’ve been perusing the old bloggy wog all along you’ll know that I already have my own ARC of this book, which I still feel smug about, but I’m going to give all y’all the chance to win one of your very own! I do this for several reasons. One, Kate cracks me up. Her skillful blurring of the lines between reality and fantasy still has me questioning the existence of Magothy Treats and the truthiness of her blog, The Clockwork Foundry. Also, she’s a member in good standing of The Enchanted Inkpot, and I hold all the Inkies in extremely high regard. And lastly, I LOVE this book. Love it. Love, love, love, love, love it. And if you don’t love it, well, I’ll just have to thrash you.

If you win, Kate Milford herself will send you an ARC! How exciting! I can see you hopping up and down like an overcaffeinated college freshman, it’s adorable! THE RULES:

  1. 1 entry: Leave a comment here. Say something snappy if you want: perhaps you can tell me what deadly martial arts skill set you would use to thrash me in the event we disagree about the book. Or, since bicycles play an important role in THE BONESHAKER (hence the title), tell me how much money you’d be willing to spend on a super-hoopdie tricked-out full-suspension mountain bike. It’s okay to just comment, however.
  2. 1 additional entry: go join Kate’s Facebook group for THE BONESHAKER and leave a comment on the wall (and include the link here). Specifically, say something about both the book and ME. For example: “I really want to read THE BONESHAKER, and gee whiz, that Mike Jung still owes me twenty bucks!” Or whatever. Again, it’s okay to just join and comment.
  3. 1 additional entry: check out Kate’s Twitter feed and tell her how jealous you are that I got to read an ARC of her book before you. For example, “Hey yo @KateMilford, your book looks awesome, but it’s SO WRONG that you let @Mike_Jung read it before me.” Include that link here as well.

Understood? Now, the book comes out very soon, and personally I think part of the hip factor of getting an ARC is reading the damned thing before the official release of the book in stores and whatnot. So I’ll only accept entries to this contest until 11:59 p.m. Pacific time on Wednesday, May 5. Get cracking, minions!

Ever generous with other people’s stuff,
m.

40 thoughts on “Again with THE BONESHAKER, or, I should just call this blog “Nothing but Contests”

  1. So a boneshaker is a bicycle? I’d never heard that term before. Who knew this
    blog could be educational as well as entertaining? ;->

    1. Oh, this blog is all kindsa things, Jeanne – educational, entertaining, baffling, indescribable, horrifying…

      I knew the term, but mostly because I have a casual interest in old bikes. One more reason why I like this book so much.

  2. Hey Mike – how about a two-finger death punch that will freeze your nerves and then I can snatch the book from your jittery hands!! Keee-ya! Want book, must have now!!

    1. Aaaaahhhh…the jittery bag of human flesh thanks you for your admirably violent entries. WELL DONE

  3. Oh, I’d love a copy. But will you be able to resist the deadly stare of book-loving goodness, as we call it here? A stare so deadly that others willingly give up books to avoid it.

    1. Resist? RESIST? I will CRUSH the deadly stare of book-loving goodness! I will…nah, you know what, I’ll probably just avoid it like everyone else.

  4. When I was a kid, I always wanted a 10-speed bike. All the cool kids had one. But, my parents thought I should be perfectly content with my 3-speed bike. Of course, my little sister and brother got 10-speed bikes.

    If I win a copy of THE BONESHAKER, I will let go of any resentment I have of NOT EVER getting my own 10-speed bike. Forget the fact I haven’t ridden a bike in years. ;-0

    Fun contest, Mike!

    Hey @KateMilford, seems so unfair @Mike_Jung got to read THE BONESHAKER be4 me. Can’t wait for my turn. Pretty please? http://bit.ly/cD6RJn
    half a minute ago via web

    RT @Mike_Jung Hey yo, giving away ARC of THE BONESHAKER by @KateMilford Yes, 2 contests in 1 week, DON’T JUDGE ME – http://bit.ly/cD6RJn
    6 minutes ago via web

    1. *weeping* I’ll buy you a 10-speed, Vivian…

      Uh, you don’t mind if it’s used, do you? Or possibly stolen?

  5. I feel exhausted…but I have followed all your requirements in order to enter this GREAT contest. As your loyal minion I do try not to complain, but jeez! I have three entries…count ’em three. And just to remind you what contest I have entered, let me offically declare what IT is I hope to win: THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER!THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BOBONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER!THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER!THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER!THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER!THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER! THE BONESHAKER!

  6. In the unlikely event that I disagreed with you and as a consequence you were coming at me w/all your stealth and strength I think I might fake a karate chop or maybe throw a pork chop if I had one, and then run. Hopefully, I’d make it to my old mountain bike while you were still recovering from the fake out, and I’d cruise to safety.

  7. Oh, totally entering!

    I will probably do the FB and twitter thing, too, but first i have to stop my kids from throwing pennies.

    Don’t ask.

  8. This is so good for my ego. My ego needs it. Yesterday was an awful day. Thank you all for making me feel like I can let go of some angst I despaired of ever getting rid of. I hope you all win. And you’re right. It’s wrong in so many ways that Mike got to read the book before you. But let’s face it, it’s Mike’s utter wrongness that makes him so endearing, no?

    WINWINWINWINWIN!!!

    1. Sorry to hear about the awful day, Kate, I’m glad our little contest can help bring your spirits back up. And thank you for acknowledging that my utter wrongness is OH SO VERY RIGHT

  9. Dear Mike, I thought you should know the truth. All of these postings are in fact me posing as other people so I could hog up all the opportunities to win the ARC that is begging to be mine. Mine I tell you! Muahahahahaha! Ahem, all done… or am I?

  10. and everybody was kung-fu fightin….first I’d stun you with my horrible singing, then I’d bribe you with donuts (make sure Ello doesn’t know….) and then I’d snatch that ARC right out of your spoiled little hands! Why do you always get the ARC’s???????? grumble**spoiled**grumble**rotten**grumble***

  11. kikihamilton

    @katemilford – what’s the deal with spoiled rotten Mike Jung getting the much coveted ARC of THE BONESHAKER?! Tell him to share the love! less than 10 seconds ago via web

    AND…..

    Kiki Hamilton Hi Kate – Please tell Larissa and everybody else that Mike promised the ARC of THE BONESHAKER to me. Blame it on Mike. But I can’t wait to get my hands on that book!!! Thanks!!!! 😀

    Let me know when you need my address so you can hurry up and send me that ARC! Bogart!

    1. Kiki, you deserve high praise for the complex, multi-layered approach of your entries – not everyone can pull off the kung-fu-fightin’ doughnut-bribe bogart-terminology trifecta. But damn, YOU GOTS TO TAKE YOUR CHANCES LIKE EVERYONE ELSE

    1. Oh Kim, what an adorable (if somewhat ambivalent and thoroughly uneffective) attempt to cast a shadow of fear over the contest. Kudos for the effort, and your entry is duly noted!

  12. Your case of peeled grapes, on ice, is in the mail. The buzz about this book has been phenomenal; so shake my bones by sending it to me.

    1. AT LAST, SOMEONE PICKS UP ON THE GRAPE THING. I wondered what was taking to long. The buzz has, indeed, been phenomenal, Kate’s uncle, and your twin entries are duly noted.

  13. Haven’t we been through this? Sigh.

    ZOMBIE SQUIRRELS EXPLODING WALNUTS PIED PIPER NEWSPAPER BRAIN DEATH-GRIP STEALTH.

    It’s over. I’ve already won. Just hand it over and back away slowly. s-l-o-w-l-y

    Sheesh. You make things so complicated.

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=33036710708#!/group.php?gid=33036710708 (mine is the one that says Stirling Bennett and has a picture of not me) (because I’m Stirling Bennett) (sort of) (for now)

    1. Kudos for making use of the ever-potent zombie squirrel tactic! Combined with the staggering confusion contained in your FB link and it’s like an exploding sun!

  14. Me. Book. Now!

    The kung fu fighting zombie squirrels are after me and nothing but THE BONESHAKER, by the amazing Kate Milford, can stop them. (They’re afraid of bikes, as you probably know.)

    Will send mailing address shortly. And peeled grapes. And doughnuts.

    1. I guess we’ve hit the limit on levels of reply on your other comment, Lena, but I must say, “your Vileness” has a certain regal and splattery elegance to it. Kudos to you!

  15. On Kate’s FB:
    Sorry, all, the ARC of THE BONESHAKER is mine!! No matter what Mike Jung or Stirling, or Kiki says. I’ll get that mailing address to you asap, Kate. (PS – speaking of The ARC of THE BONESHAKER: is anyone else thinking this would make a great Indiana Jones movie??)

    And Twitter:
    @katemilford I hear Mike Jung’s giving away an ARC of THE BONESHAKER. How about we get this contest thing over with, and mail it to ME? Yes?

    In it to win it. That’s three in total, count em THREE!!! Bwhahahaha

    1. I do in fact think THE BONESHAKER would make an absurdly great movie! I respect your boldly pre-emptive statement about mailing your address to Kate, although I know you do understand that THIS IS A CONTEST WITH A RANDOMLY CHOSEN WINNER, right? Eh? Eh?

Leave a Reply

