Guest vlogging, or hey, free books put me in a generous mood

So a few weeks ago I won a contest on Larissa Hardesty’s blog (you are suprised? Of course not) and she asked me if I’d be interested in doing a guest post. As luck would have it, I was plotting my next round of vlog clips and an idea popped into my head – plus I’m just a fantastically generous guy – so I said yes to the guest post, and here it is.

Speaking of blog contests, I won a $40 gift certificate on Shannon Morgan’s blog! Pretty good week for me at Daily Pie, considering all the #FrankenSmack fun. BTW, it ain’t too late for you to go read Shannon’s awesome #FrankenSmack story, as well as my own modest little tale. Probably the best thing to come out of this whole business is the fact that I finally, finally, finally, finally have a new, viable work-in-progress that I actually like. So, since my kid is plagued with another cold and I got maybe two hours of sleep last night, it’s time to go off and shuffle around like a zombie for the rest of the day. Ta, minions.

5 thoughts on “Guest vlogging, or hey, free books put me in a generous mood

  1. “I finally, finally, finally, finally have a new, viable work-in-progress that I actually like.”

    Excellent. I am envious. I have only unviable or hateful or not actually “IP” WIPs. Blah.

    1. It’s a big relief, Jacqui, I’ve been thrashing around for a few months trying to settle on a new idea. Now that I’ve got one I can look forward to all the normal mid-WIP neuroses and meltdowns, instead of the pre-WIP neuroses and meltdowns…

  2. Hi Mike,
    Congratulations on the win. I watched your guest video. In it you mentioned thoughts about whether or not short stories or stand-alone novels or children stories were easier or not easier to write because they were often short or shorter then a full length novel or series. Yesterday on 90.3 FM here in New York a professor and author, whose name I don’t recall, mentioned the same issue, pointing ot the basic same premise of shorter stories require harder, and hence, more time consuming choices about what to put in or leave out story “potential” as you put it.

    You linked this “story petential” with decision making. Where it struck a cord with me. In my world of computer programming languages, I came across the same issues and thoughts about choice and potential. Should I break this down into smaller concepts or broader taskes. Should I work with procedures (like events) and data (environment) or with Objects (like people). Should I go forward loop or backward. You could draw analogies of computer programming with story telling, story purpose, plot, story universe, action/reaction character behavior. You get the idea.

    What I found after several years of programming was that I was blinded from clear choices or blinded from the path of going from the beginning to the end of my programming steps (call it a story outline if you like) with “potential” that I really was not very productive with it. I concluded that because my decision making skills were lacking in some way that I was basically an unproductive programmer and hence a bad programmer. And then changed jobs.

    My intended implication is that writers, or any profession for that matter, be effectve at cherry picking from the potential of a story based on defined purpose of a story.

    For me, a children’s story writer has much more story potential for the intended reader/story-receiptiant, than an adult’s story. And as you noted, story potential is a double edged sword so to speak. It can slow you down in getting things done because of the reluctance to “cut things out” and hence loose “potential”.

    One thing that amazes me about well written children’s stories or short stories is the author’s ability to be precise in what they present in the story. For me I see all the things they could put in but leave out. I see how the “fluff” of the stories are wrapped around a focal message.

    I hope you know what I mean with that rambling. I just wanted to share a possible similar experience.

Leave a Reply

